Interstate Commission for EMS Personnel Practice Meeting Summary February 21, 2024

Date: February 21, 2024 Time: 3:00 PM Eastern

Location: Microsoft Teams (Virtual Only)

- I. Call to Order & Welcome Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - The meeting of the Interstate Commission for EMS Personnel Practice was convened virtually on February 21, 2024, at 3:00 p.m. Chairman Kinney (IN) presided over the meeting, welcoming all attendees.
 - Roll Call Commissioner House (KS), Secretary
 - Secretary House (KS) conducted a roll call, confirming a quorum was present as recorded on the attached roster.
 - Introduction of New Commissioners Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - o Chairman Kinney introduced the following new commissioners:
 - George Miller Missouri (MO)
 - Anthony Martin Pennsylvania (PA)
 - Camela Crittenden Virginia (VA)
 - Adoption of the Business Agenda Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - Upon motion by Schmider (TX) and a 2nd by Herrera (UT), the Commission approved the agenda as published and without dissent.
- II. Public Comments Regarding Matters Not on the Agenda Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - None
- III. Old Business Commissioner House (KS), Secretary
 - Upon motion of Schmider (TX) and a 2nd by Koehler (WY), the Commission adopted and approved the November 15, 2023 meeting minutes as presented and without dissent.

IV. New Business

- Treasurer's Report Commissioner Vande Lune (IA). Treasurer
 - Vande Lune (IA) provided the report noted on page 12 of the Q1 2024 Commission Book; noting the Commission is operating within our budget, and providing additional information of the NREMT still being the primary source of income.
- Chair's Report Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - Kinney (IN) commended the work of EMS Compact Executive Director Woodyard and announced the creation and membership of the two task force/workgroups: Code of Conduct and Data Privacy Protections. Current members for the Code of Conduct are Chair Johnson (GA), Wilson (NE), Herrera (UT), and Logan (Ad Hoc). Current members for the Data Privacy Protections are Chair Bateman (CO) and Patel (Ad Hoc).
 - Chair Kinney asked commissioners to consider participating in one or more of these two important workgroups.
- Executive Director's Report Donnie Woodyard, EMS Compact Executive Director
 - Woodyard provided the following:
 - commended the Commissioners moving on and offered a reminder of succession to include the naming of a replacement for the Commission;
 - EC approved the Commission to be a signatory for SHARE act support:
 - asked Commissioners to view the press releases beginning on page 28 of the Q1 2024 Commission Book;
 - noted the Commission had adopted a seal and procured challenge coins to commemorate and memorialize the Commission in its official role:
 - activities of the Executive Director continue to include interactions with federal colleagues and interagency interactions as well as the Executive Director being accepted to the Navy Post Graduate Leadership Course in Monterrey, CA; and

- commended all Commissioners on their activity within the EMS Compact.
- National EMS Coordinated Database, Administrator Update Ray Mollers, NREMT
 - Mollers noted the February 2024 NEMSCD Report on page 14 of the Q1 2024 Commission Book and provided information upon the following items:
 - Discipline and Member State Actions being updated in NEMSCD; and
 - setting up a NEMSCD working group to meet on a more recurrent basis.
- V. Administrative Rules Hearing Commissioner Kinney (IN), Chair
 - Kinney (IN) called upon Immediate Past Chair Schmider (TX) to offer an introduction and an overview of the proposed change.
 - Schmider (TX) reviewed the authority of the Commission to promulgate Administrative Rules and verified the process to promulgate such noting proper notice was provided as well as the following:
 - o No valid comments upon the proposed rules were submitted;
 - o No requests to speak upon the proposed rules amendment were made; and
 - o No written notices of intent to attend and speak to the proposed rules were submitted.
 - <u>Upon motion of Schmider (TX) and a 2nd by Herrera (UT), the Commission, without dissent, opened the public hearing on the proposed change to the Administrative Rules.</u>
 - Proposed changes were summarized as noted in the Statement of Purpose on page 15 in the Q1 2024 Commission Book.
 - Schmider noted meetings of the Rules Committee are public, these proposed rules had been sent out to Commissioner on multiple occasions, and the notice of intent to adopt proposed rules had been published on the website for at least 60 days.
 - Having received no additional comments during the hearing, upon motion of Schmider (TX) and a 2nd by Koehler (WY), the Commission closed the public hearing on the proposed changes and adopted the rules, effective today, as proposed in the Q1 2024 Commission Book without dissent by roll call vote.
 - Chairman Kinney (IN) thanked Legal Counsel for their involvement and advice in this process of amending the administrative rules.
- VI. Federal Partners Update None provided
- VII. NGO & Professional Organizations Update None provided

VIII. Adjourn Meeting

- Chairman Kinney (IN) noted
- The meeting was adjourned at 3:57pm EST.

****Note: Where page numbers are noted, they are the page numbers within the Q1 2024 Commission Book for the February 21, 2024 meeting unless noted otherwise.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph House, Secretary

EMS Compact Commissioner, Kansas

Commissioner Roll Call - February 21, 2024

Quorum – 12 Commissioners (with the current vacancy)

Present (17):

Colorado - Michael Bateman

Delaware – Britany Huss

Georgia – Michael Johnson

Idaho – Wayne Denny, Vice Chairperson

Indiana – Kraig Kinney, Chairperson

Iowa – Brad Vande Lune, Treasurer

Kansas – Joe House, Secretary

Mississippi – Teresa Windham

Missouri - George Miller

Nevada – Bobbie Sullivan

North Dakota – Christopher Price

Pennsylvania – Anthony Martin

South Carolina – Mitch Stewart

Texas – Joseph Schmider, Immediate Past Chair

Utah - Mark Herrera

Virginia – Camela Crittenden

Wyoming – Aaron Koehler, At-Large Member

Absent (6):

Alabama – Jamie Gray

Louisiana – Susan Bailey

Nebraska - Tim Wilson

South Dakota – Marty Link

Tennessee - Brandon Ward

West Virginia – David Jamie Weller

Currently Vacant (1):

Oklahoma