REPLICA Grows to Twelve States Delaware and Alabama Join the Compact

Sept. 15, 2017 – With the signing of Senate Bill 35 today by Delaware’s Governor John Carney, the Recognition of Emergency Medical Services Licensure Interstate Compact (REPLICA) reached the 12-state member mark. Alabama became the 11th Compact state when Governor Kay Ivey signed House Bill 250 on May 24, 2017. The nations’ first EMS licensure compact was activated on May 8, 2017, when Georgia brought it over the 10-state threshold. States that have passed REPLICA to date include: Colorado, Texas, Kansas, Virginia, Tennessee, Idaho, Utah, Mississippi, Wyoming and Georgia.

REPLICA’s model legislation creates a formal pathway for the licensed individual to provide pre-hospital care across state lines under authorized circumstances. Through funding provided by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), NASEMSO led 23 EMS, fire, law enforcement organizations and associations as well as key federal partners in the design and drafting of REPLICA. The National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) currently provides funding to finalize the development of the Commission.

The compact calls for establishment of an Interstate Commission with each state that has passed REPLICA holding a seat, as well as a national EMS personnel coordinated database. Member states will be able to rapidly share personnel licensure information, develop policy focused only on cross border EMS practice, and hold EMS personnel originating in other states accountable in an unprecedented way.

Twelve national associations and organizations support REPLICA including; the American Ambulance Association, International Association of Fire Chiefs, National Association of EMS Educators, National Association of EMS Physicians, National Association of State EMS Officials, National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians, National EMS Managers Association, National Volunteer Fire Council, Association of Air Medical Services, Association of Critical Care Transport, National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, and the Council of State Governments.

Alabama's Governor Kay Ivey signs the REPLICA legislation into law.

September 2017, Alabama's Governor Kay Ivey signs the REPLICA legislation into law.